Editing Identity Crisis by Barbara Erb

Barbara Erb

I have been mulling over the results of our branch’s survey to know our members better and I realize that at the dawn of a new career, I am experiencing an identity crisis!

I am a student (campus and distance education) at Simon Fraser University, nearing completion of the Editing Certificate program. I am not young, and neither do I consider myself over the hill.

When I retired from public service, my lifelong love affair with the written word continued to haunt me so I decided to pursue editing as a post-retirement occupation only to find myself where I am today! My demeanor may not reveal the identity crisis but let me tell you, it exists—because I feel like a 19-year-old trying to find my place in life. This is my fourth diploma. One would think I would be accustomed to the ventures of pursuing a new career by this time.

It may well be that novice editors—younger and older, are feeling the same angst. In the branch’s survey, my demographic profile hovers painstakingly in the minority percentages of the results. This adds to my dilemma and cultivates a whole new set of questions:

Is editing a viable career? Is the advent of electronic technology diminishing the need for editors? Which aspect of editing is feasible for me to pursue? What are the industry needs for skilled editors? Where do I start? Will I be prejudiced against because of my age? Did I study editing to become an editor or do I really want to be a writer? How do I market myself?

The survey results provide a gateway to membership engagement and growth for the future. Personally, it has revved up thought processes to help me resolve the career issues currently on my radar. Whether the resolution of my editing identity crisis is to edit, write, or do something completely different… continued networking and professional development with Editors Ottawa–Gatineau is highly beneficial and can only be helpful.

Editors Ottawa–Gatineau is a community of like-minded colleagues who see a common need to learn and grow through seminars, speaker nights, pub meets, and especially a Wine & Cheese event once a year! Thank you for being there and for all you do.

Barbara Erb

Student Member and Branch Secretary

Editors Ottawa–Gatineau

 

Leave a Reply

